Points leader Eli Tomac takes first 450SX class win of the season


Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha Eli Tomac earned his first Monster Energy AMA Supercross win of 2022 and extended the points lead he held heading into round four. Jason Anderson of the Monster Energy Kawasaki team led early and was close at the end, but settled for second place in the ladies. Second year of the 450SX Team Honda HRC class sacristan hunting backed up his first career win in the 450SX class with a podium on the series’ second visit to Anaheim. It was an exciting Main Event in the Western Regional 250SX class, with Monster Energy Star Racing Yamaha’s Christian Craig taking his third win of the season after a long battle that kept victory in doubt until the end.

Honda HRC Team’s Ken Roczen blasted out of the gate in the main event of the 450SX class, coming out of the first turn neck and neck with Rocky Mountain ATV/MC WPS KTM’s Shane McElrath. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Malcolm Stewart took second place just 30 seconds into the race as behind him Anderson was moving up from fourth and Tomac advancing from seventh.

Anderson took second place from Stewart just three and a half minutes into the 20-minute-plus-lap race. He staggered at Roczen and made an aggressive move into the sand section where two lines met. The runners collided in a sheaf of sand. Roczen’s bike tipped sideways off the track while Anderson managed to stay on two wheels. Anderson took the lead but Tomac charged hard to steal the lead.

Just before halfway through the race, Anderson took a risky triple-triple pace line into an elevated, near-high berm off the track. The bobble allowed Tomac to cut under. From there he held the lead until the finish. Chase Sexton kept both runners in sight but never got close enough to challenge Anderson for second place.

Christian Craig raced smart and clean for his third win in four races in 2022. Photo Credit: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

In the Western Regional 250SX class, Vince Friese of Smartop Bullfrog Spas MotoConcepts Honda grabbed the holeshot as previous round winner Michael Mosiman of Troy Lee Designs Red Bull GASGAS Factory Racing raced with Christian Craig for second square. Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Jo Shimoda passed Craig momentarily at the start, but Craig reclaimed third as Mosiman took the lead – all within the first minute and a half of the 15-minute-plus-lap race.

Craig passed Friese a few laps later and started closing the gap to Mosiman. Behind them, Team Honda HRC’s Hunter Lawrence got around Shimoda and set his sights on Friese in third. Friese had a bad crash in the whoops that allowed Lawrence through. While getting up, Friese was hit by Shimoda, who also fell in the incident.

Mosiman and Craig separated from the peloton with less than a second separating them for several laps. With four and a half minutes on the clock, Craig made a clean move and took first place. Mosiman retaliated immediately but did not return. A round later, Mosiman attempted another pass, but it wasted time and put him just outside of striking distance.

The Anaheim 2 event kicked off the announcement of the return partnership with St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. The longtime partnership allows Supercross teams and fans to help St. Jude kids through supercrosslive.com/stjude or by texting “Super” to 785833. In 2021, the Supercross community donated $252,617 to help support St. Jude’s mission, Finding Cures. Save the children.

st jude this saves lives

The Anaheim 2 race also marked the fourth time in Monster Energy Supercross history that the first four rounds of the 450SX class have been won by four different riders. Racers will line up for Round 5 on Saturday night inside State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The Arizona race is the first of three Triple Crown events on the 2022 calendar. Qualifying rounds are replaced by a three Main Event format for each class, leading to intense racing action with the overall tally paying out points from title at the end of the night. For tickets, schedules and airtime on Peacock NBC, CNBC and USA Network, please go to Timetables and tickets.

450 Anaheim Round 4 Podium
450SX class podium (riders from left to right) Jason Anderson, Eli Tomac and Chase Sexton. Photo credit: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

450SX Class Results

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colorado, Yamaha
  2. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.Mex., Kawasaki
  3. Chase Sexton, Clermont, Florida, Honda
  4. Dylan Ferrandis, Tallahassee, Florida, Yamaha
  5. Malcolm Stewart, Murrieta, CA, Husqvarna
  6. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
  7. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Florida, GASGAS
  8. Cooper Webb, Newport, North Carolina, KTM
  9. Dean Wilson, Murrieta, CA, Husqvarna
  10. Shane McElrath, Oakland, Fla., KTM

450SX Class Championship standings

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colorado, Yamaha (85)
  2. Chase Sexton, Clermont, FL, Honda (79)
  3. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.Mex., Kawasaki (77)
  4. Cooper Webb, Newport, NC, KTM (73)
  5. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., GASGAS (72)
  6. Malcolm Stewart, Murrieta, CA, Husqvarna (70)
  7. Dylan Ferrandis, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (64)
  8. Marvin Musquin, Corona, CA, KTM (64)
  9. Ken Roczen, Clermont, FL, Honda (62)
  10. Aaron Plessinger, Leesburg, FL, KTM (55)

250 round 4 anaheim podium
250SX class podium (riders from left to right) Hunter Lawrence, Christian Craig and Michael Mosiman. Photo credit: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

  1. Christian Craig, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha
  2. Michael Mosiman, Minneaola, Florida, GASGAS
  3. Hunter Lawrence, Wesley Chapel, Florida, Honda
  4. Nate Thrasher, Livingston, Tennessee, Yamaha
  5. Jalek Swoll, Clermont, Florida, Husqvarna
  6. Carson Brown, Ravensdale, Washington, KTM
  7. Jo Shimoda, Menifee, CA, Kawasaki
  8. Carson Mumford, Simi Valley, California, Suzuki
  9. Robbie Wageman, Newhall, California, Yamaha
  10. Derek Kelley, Riverside, CA, KTM

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

  1. Christian Craig, Temecula, CA, Yamaha (99)
  2. Hunter Lawrence, Wesley Chapel, Florida, Honda (88)
  3. Michael Mosiman, Minneaola, Fla., GASGAS (85)
  4. Jo Shimoda, Menifee, CA, Kawasaki (66)
  5. Nate Thrasher, Livingston, Tennessee, Yamaha (63)
  6. Vince Friese, Menifee, CA, Honda (58)
  7. Carson Mumford, Simi Valley, CA, Suzuki (54)
  8. Robbie Wageman, Newhall, CA, Yamaha (51)
  9. Cole Thompson, Brigden, ON, Yamaha (45)
  10. Seth Hammaker, Temecula, CA, Kawasaki (44)

Comments are closed.